Week 10 Days 68 – 70: Weekly roundup

Well it certainly is getting close to the end of the fitness challenge and I am super excited! Now certainly isn’t the time to get ahead of myself and get lazy and think all the hard work is done. I must continue to maintain focus on eating right and working out. It’s more important than ever to stick to that routine.

Finish of week 10

Finish of week 10

Along the way, it’s good to make note of things that have been working so far. Analysing any sort of results, good or bad, is the best way to get feedback and validate any decisions that I made. Learning from my mistakes is something that I plan on getting better at, too.

Identifying hazards

Over the past few weeks I have been sneaking sugar back in to my diet. In the mornings when I have coffee, I add half a teaspoon of sugar and a few more times throughout the day. In the afternoons at work I occasionally go to the fridge and grab a can of fizzy drink when I’m craving something other than water.

To overcome that, this week I have set myself the task to STOP adding sugar.

When I take creatine I have a spoonful with some grape juice, which I usually keep at home. So something I want to try is having that grape juice available at work so if I do get thirsty for something other than water I can have that instead of the deadly canned fizzy drinks. Blerrgh!
As for not adding sugar to coffee, that’s going to have to come down to willpower. Because we all know that I’m not gonna kick the coffee habit any time soon!

Practicing what you suck at

Rather than spending time getting good at things I don’t enjoy, I have made the decision to improve on things that I want to be good at. Even though I might be completely sucky and have no idea where to begin.

Making a start on something is always hard, but if it’s something that I find myself mentally gravitating towards on a reguar basis, I start to take note and make the commitment.
After the initial decision to commit, it starts to become easier.

Wilpower, for example, is something that everyone has, but might not be good at. When it comes to sticking to a health and fitness plan, and people say, “you just need willpower”, that’s not a very empowering statement.

Where can I get willpower!?
I can’t just, go to the cornershop and buy some! It’s something that is inside each of us, and like any skill, it takes practice to get good at it.

This isn’t a quick tip, fix-all solution. It’s a commitment to myself. It’s a declaration of something that I want to improve upon every day.

If today I am a little better than I was yesterday, that’s great!

If I slipped up and the wheels came off a bit, even better!!!

Mistakes are…good!?

You’re damn right they’re good! Stuffing up is better than succeeding in some instances – as long as you learn from the mistakes that you make.

Mistakes are necescarry for progress.
If you’re making mistakes it means that you are trying.

Another area that I need to work on is patience.

Learning is about having the patience, too. As with any new skill, it takes time to master. Having the patience and commitment is going to help with progress.

Today when I went to the gym with my girlfriend to try and assist her.
I was quick to get frustrated when it looked to me that she might not be holding the weights correctly, or if I thought she wasn’t pushing hard enough.
My girlfriend isn’t the problem.
I was the one with the problem.

If I want to help people I want to be able to address their problems in a way that doesn’t hurt their feelings.

Compassionate Criticism

Rather than launching in to a barrage of insults, and saying “you’re doing it wrong”, or “you need to do it like this”, when giving instructions I want to try this out;

Start by showing the other person what they need to do.

Get them to try it and if possible, do it alongside with them too.

Show them one more time how I do it.

Get them to try it on their own – observe and assist.

We are going to continue going to the gym together for the next weeks so it will give me the chance to work on my coaching skills.

Thankyou for reading, I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments section below.

-AC.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Please Leave a Reply

