Week 06 Day 37

Back in the saddle on a beautiful sunny London day today, it feels great to be alive!
It’s pretty obvious that I’m still finding my way around London. On my way to work I clocked up an extra kilometre after crossing the wrong bridge.

Morning ride with an extra K for finding my way

Morning ride with an extra K for finding my way

In the gym, after reading those notes from Arnie yesterday, I have decided to increase reps to try and builder strength and muscle.

Previously, my workout would be:

2 sets of 12 (2/3rds working weight)

1 working set until failure (usually about 10 – 12)

Starting from today I’m going to try something a little different.

2 sets of 16 – 20 (2/3rds working weight)

1 working set until failure ( 16- 20 ).

The reason I want to try this is because I have lost some weight and now I want to see if I can gain it back in muscle mass.
It might be that I need to lift with heavier weights, and few reps, or that I try supersetting and making the workouts harder for myself.
Those are options that I will explore in the future.

However, the gym I currently attend has quite a limited range of weights.

For now, I’m going to keep lifting with the (somewhat lower) weights and increase the rep count to around 16 – 20.

The Workout (Back & Biceps)

  • One-arm row
  • Standing lat pull down
  • Barbell deadlift
  • Hammer curl
  • Alternating dumbbell curl

And there was the ride home, too.
Tonight was the first time riding with friends.
It was great to have them around, and to see how fast they ride, too.
Crazy!

Ride home with mates

Ride home with mates

-AC.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please Leave a Reply

