Week 04 Day 23

Today I’d like to make a small point of always maintaining proper form.

There’s no reason to be putting all this hard effort in at the gym, if you aren’t doing it right.
Even though the weights are fully stacked, you’re swinging the bar with your entire body weight just to reach the top and nearly go flying ass over. There’s no point in over exerting yourself in this way (just to look tough in the gym) because you won’t get the desired results – and in the long run, you certainly don’t want to be injuring yourself.

Proper form is something that I really try to focus on more than anything.
I don’t care about lifting the heaviest weights in the room (just yet!). As for me, it’s really about doing everything in a controlled manner.

Make that muscle-mind connection. Really feel the muscles moving.

Yes, as you can probably tell. This evening I swapped out my 30 minute cardio session for a Yoga class. That is probably a main reason I want to talk about form.
I still consider myself a beginner when it comes to yoga, but some things that I can think about for the gym, such as maintaining proper form, breathing and flexibility.
There are so many resources out there that there’s no excuse.

On that note, I have started a Pinterest page to maintain reference material.
Before Yoga, after work, there was:

The Workout (Back & Biceps)

  • Bent over two- dumbbell row
  • Dumbbell deadlift
  • Romanian deadlift
  • Machine alternating dumbbell curl
  • Alternating hammer curl

-AC.

Proper form

Proper form

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Please Leave a Reply

