Week 01 Day 02

2nd step of a very long journey – complete!

The aim for me is to take this one step at a time, as a footy coach used to say to me, it’s all about the 1 per centers – they all add up to complete the big picture.

Today was working the push muscles; chest, shoulders and triceps. As there was no cardio, I had time to squeeze in a workout during  my lunch break which made it very intense. In these faster workouts with shorter rest periods, it’s important to focus on form and make sure that the weights and swinging or dropping back to the starting position; that it is all in a controlled fashion. So rather than jumping straight in to heavy weights, I am humbling myself by starting off with some of the lightest weights in the gym.

The Workout (Shoulders, Chest & Triceps) + 30 minutes of interval cardio (treadmill)

  • Dumbbell bench press
  • Incline flyes
  • Seated dumbbell press
  • Dumbbell side laterals
  • Triceps extension
  • Bench dips

As always, it’s important to stretch/warmup and cooldown – even when you are pressed for time, make sure to fit it in.

Overall my energy levels were up during the day today (probably due to some of the nice weather, too), but I was starting to feel a little tired on the way home. Tomorrow I’m going to try and get up extra early as it’s an active rest day which means 30 minutes of cardio, and I always think it’s better to do it earlier than later.

-AC.

Tagged , , , , ,

Please Leave a Reply

